Board of Directors

Edie Ehlert
Freeman Township

Edie Ehlert was one of the founders of Crawford Stewardship Project in 2007, and a co-coordinator from January 2009 until retiring in 2013. She continues as CSP President, appreciating working with the other board members and staff. She brings organizing and advocacy experience, working with groups and coalitions around the state, including Sustain Rural Wisconsin Network as well as on frack sand mining issues. Building coalitions and connections continues as a focus. Outdoor play, such as kayaking, skiing, and hiking are the joyful reminders of why we all do environmental justice work. She is inspired by the commitment of so many of us working for a just and healthy planet.

Ellen Brooks
Vice President
Haney Township

Ellen has been with CSP since the beginning. In addition to attending the county Land Conservation Committee meetings as CSP rep each month, she enjoys organizing refreshments for events and helps with CSP editing and other volunteer jobs. A 1970 graduate of Macalester College (St. Paul, MN), Ellen and her life partner try to live as simply as they can to minimize their effect on the environment and keep their income below taxable level (to avoid paying for war). Annual trips to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness augment time spent outdoors closer to home, engaged in gardening, water monitoring, apple picking, chopping wood, and hauling water.  She also loves to cook, bake, visit friends, and usher at American Players Theatre performances.

Kathy Byrne
Freeman Township

Kathy Byrne was Crawford Stewardship Project co-coordinator from 2012 to 2014. She coordinated the citizen volunteer water quality monitoring program while also working on various environmental issues affecting our area including frack sand mining. Possessing a strong desire to assist people in her community she previously worked in social services and was a nationally certified Asian Bodywork Therapist. She nourishes her spirit in nature and enjoys gardening, cooking, and spending time with her children and grandchildren.

Marinella Pro
Board Member
Vernon County

Omarú Heras Ornelas
Clayton Township

Omarú studied Biology/Biochemistry in Life and Earth Sciences, earning a bachelor of sciences at the University of Reunion Island (France).  She is experienced in water catchment, management, and monitoring, as well as being a certified acupuncturist.  She has been passionately working for many years with several environmental organizations, rural-indigenous communities and schools in Mexico, in order to raise the awareness, justice, care and love for nature, water and soil.
She enjoys clean water, organic food, clean air, a clear sky, the sunny days, a beautiful rain, to walk in the forest, to be surrounded by a wild bio-nature, a conscious mind and living in a sustainable intentional community.